Our Methodology:

How does it work?

As mentioned in our About page, Anime Gauge basically scours the Internet getting review scores from numerous review websites. We then compute the average score from those websites. That's the gist of it.

Review Scores:

We do not consider reviews without a score. Other sites like Metacritic or Rotten Tomatoes, "guess" what score to assign a review based on how they feel while reading it. We consider this approach very subjective and so decided to exclude reviews without an explicit score.

If a review uses a five point rating, we multiply it by two to convert it. (for example, a 2.5 stars out of 5 becomes a 5/10)

Reviews that use the letter scale are converted to a ten point scale using the following:

  • A+ becomes a 10
  • A becomes a 9.3
  • A- becomes a 9.1
  • B+ becomes a 8.8
  • B becomes a 8.4
  • B- becomes a 8.1
  • C+ becomes a 7.8
  • C becomes a 7.3
  • D+ becomes a 6.8
  • D becomes a 6.4
  • D- becomes a 6.1
  • F becomes a 2.9

On occasion, we consider review scores from non-English websites provided there is a readable numeric score.

Final Score:

The Anime Gauge score is an average out of of all the review scores we collected rounded to one decimal point. It is not a weighted average. We do not believe that opinions of "certain critics" hold more weight than others. And that being a critic for a long time automatically makes you a good critic.

The bigger number inside the colored box is the Anime Gauge Score. It is out of a 10 point scale. The smaller number preceded by a # is the anime's ranking.

Since the credibility of the Anime Gauge score is dependent on the number of reviews collected, we will try our best to constantly look for new review scores. That is why scores and rankings can change over time.

Color Meaning:

  • #1 10
  • Scores that range from a 9.0 to 10 are marked as INCREDIBLE

  • #2 8.7
  • Scores that range from a 8.5 to 8.9 are marked as EXCELLENT

  • #3 8.2
  • Scores that range from a 8.0 to 8.4 are marked as GREAT

  • #4 7.7
  • Scores that range from a 7.5 to 7.9 are marked as GOOD

  • #5 7.2
  • Scores that range from a 7.0 to 7.4 are marked as DECENT

  • #6 6.5
  • Scores that range from a 5.0 to 6.9 are marked as MEDIOCRE

  • #7 4.5
  • Scores that range from a 3.0 to 4.9 are marked as BAD

  • #8 1.5
  • Scores that range from a 0.1 to 2.9 are marked as TERRIBLE